HCS 2019 Award Winners

The Histochemical Society is pleased to announce the 2019 merit award winners.


George Gomori Award

Gwen V. Childs, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

The George Gomori Award is the highest award offered by the Society and was established to honor Dr. George Gomori. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of histochemistry and cytochemistry. It is presented every four years. Dr. Childs is an invited speaker at EB2019 for the HCS session on Monday, April 8.


New Investigator

Mohammed Khurshed, Amersterdam UMCC

The Histochemical Society (HCS) New Investigator Award is presented to a promising early career investigator who demonstrates scientific excellence through the utilization of histochemical, immunohistochemical, and imaging techniques.


Honorary Lifetime Members

William Stahl


Elizabeth Unger

Honorary Lifetime Members are individuals recognized for their long term contribution to the Histochemical Society and the scientific field. We applaud Bill and Elizabeth for their significant contributions to the society.



These awardees will be recognized at EB2019 in the HCS Business Meeting and Award Reception on Sunday, April 7, 6:30pm in Orlando, Florida. We hope you will join us there!